Today’s National Women’s History Museum’s 6th Annual Women Making History Awards Honored Kerry Washington, Marne Levine & Gwynne Shotwell

For Immediate Release





EPK FOOTAGE CREDIT: Courtesy of National Women’s History Museum (NWHM)


LOS ANGELES (September 16, 2017) – Today at the National Women’s History Museum’s (NWHM) Women Making History Awards, actress and activist Kerry Washington, Instagram COO Marne Levine, and SpaceX President and COO Gwynne Shotwell were honored with the Women Making History Award.

The brunch kicked off with Lisa Ling presenting the Women Making History award to Gwynne Shotwell highlighting her work with SpaceX. Shortly thereafter Rowan Blanchard took the stage to present Marne Levine with her honor for serving on the boards of several nonprofits including and Women for Women International while simultaneously overseeing a community 700 million Instagram users; Finally, Bellamy Young gave a touching and personal speech when giving Kerry Washington her award for breaking barriers by becoming the first African American woman to a headline a network TV drama since 1974. The show featured Glamour editor-in-chief, Cindi Leive, who moderated Q&As with each award recipient after they received their honor.

The sixth annual Women Making History Awards was presented by Glamour and Lifeway Foods Inc. and took place at The Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.

Attendees included Women Making History Award recipients actress/activist Kerry Washington, Instagram COO Marne Levine, and SpaceX President and COO Gwynne Shotwell; presenters Bellamy Young, Rowan Blanchard, and Lisa Ling; emcees Brianna Brown and Ana Ortiz; NWHM President and CEO Joan Wages; NWHM Board Chair Susan D. Whiting; and NWHM board members Jon Bouker, Gretchen Green, Elana Pianko-Ginsburg, Julie Smolyansky, and Ann Stone.

Celebrity guests included: Alyvia Alyn Lind, Parker Bates, Brianna Brown, Logan Browning, Tony Denison, Ann Dowd, Frances Fisher, Dawn-Lyen Gardner, Annabeth Gish, Isabella Gomez, Shanola Hampton, Sarah Jeffery, Emma Kenney, Jamie King, Amy Laslett, Sharon Lawrence, Cindi Leive, Justina Machado, Marsai Martin, Aly Michalka & AJ Michalka, Rita Moreno, Ana Ortiz, Retta, Hollywood Foreign Press Assocation President Meher Tatna, Anneliese van der Pol, Kate Walsh, Miss California India Williams, Michael K. Williams, and Zendaya.

The National Women’s History Museum educates, inspires, empowers, and shapes the future by integrating women's distinctive history into the culture and history of the United States. A key element of advancing that mission is to build a world-class museum on the National Mall in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the National Women’s History Museum or to become a member, please visit


About the National Women's History Museum

Founded in 1996, the National Women’s History Museum (NWHM, Inc.) is a nonpartisan, 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to educating the general public about the diverse historic contributions of women and raising awareness about the critical need for a national women’s history museum in our nation’s capital. Currently located online, the Museum’s goal is to build a world-class, permanent museum on or near the National Mall that will herald and display the collective history of American women. A Congressional Commission recommended that a women’s history museum should be built on or near the National Mall.  In March 2017, Representatives Carolyn Maloney (D-NY) and Ed Royce (R-CA) introduced H.R. 19, which would establish the Museum and designates two possible sites on the National Mall.  For additional information visit or follow us on Facebook and Twitter.




Media Contacts:

For press inquiries, please contact Annalee Paulo ( or 310-527-1819 cell) and Chrissie Bock ( or 310-999-8725 cell).